vendredi 23 mars 2018

"Affirmative action" by 17 scientists at the L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science 20th Awards Ceremony [mars 2018]

On March 22. 2018, the L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science 20th Awards Ceremony [1] laureated
  • Prof. Dame Caroline Dean, for research on "how plants adapt to their surroundings and climate change, leading to new ways to improve crops";
  • Prof. Janet Rossant, to understanding "how tissues dans organs are formed in the developing embryo";
  • Prof. Amy T. Austin, to understanding "terrestrial ecosystem ecology in natural and human-modified landscapes";
  • Prof. Mee-Mann Chang, for work on "fossil records leading to insights on how aquatic vertebrates adapted to live on land";
  • Prof. Heather Zar, for research on "pneumonia, tuberculosis and asthma, saving the lives of many children worldwide".

At closure of the ceremony, L'Oréal and UNESCO announced "Male Champions For Women in Science [2]", an initiative endorsed by a first pool of 17 international scientists.
The key note of the announce was made by Etienne Klein, research director, CEA, France, who featured in his speech Platon and mathematician Carl Friedrich Gauss, two men reputed as advocates for men women equity.

Député Cedric Villani, Member of the French Parliament, delivered the ceremony closing speech through a video retransmission.

[1] L'Oréal-Unesco For Women in Science 2018 - 20th International Awards - Fondation L'Oréal. 
[2] "Male Champions For Women in Science" is the official name of the initiative. At the ceremony, it was announced "Men for Women in Science".

Note : La Fondation L'Oréal a soutenu les deux premières éditions des Entretiens de l'Excellence sur le site de l'Ecole Polytechnique, un manifestation au profit de 500 collégien(ne)s et lycéen(ne)s de la diversité dans leur ambition de suivre des études supérieures.